Font Size

Font Size
You are here: Home Teen Zone

Sign up here to receive our Wowbrary weekly electronic newsletter highlighting new books, DVDs, music CDs and other library purchases.


STEM is Back!

School is back in session, which means STEM programs are back as well! Did you miss us? If you're interested in making cool things, having fun, and learning all about science, we have you covered. Our STEM programs meet the second Thursday of every month, and we always have a cool topic to explore and play around with.

Our first program is on October 9th, right after school at 3:30pm. All programs are open to anyone in grades 4-8. If you'd like to attend, give us a call 734-453-0750 #4 or sign up online. Let's have some fun this year!

STEM lava lamp

 

Dia de los Muertos

skulls Or Day of the Dead is a Mexican family celebration to honor the memory and life of deceased relatives. This holiday is celebrated on All Souls Day (November 1) with shrines, picnics at the cemetery, dancing and celebration.

 Join us on Friday, October 31 at 3:30pm as we celebrate Dia de los Muertos with calaveras, papel picado, and pan de muerto and more. 

Sign-up by phone at 734.453.0750, ext. 4, or online.

ACT Test Prep Course

ACT Prep10weeks

College-Bound Book Club: September 30 @ 3:30pm

CBBC1WeA powerful story of a young girl's journey out of Zimbabwe and to America. Darling is only ten years old, and yet she must navigate a fragile and violent world. In Zimbabwe, Darling and her friends grasp at memories of Before. Before their homes were destroyed by paramilitary policemen, before the school closed, before the fathers left for dangerous jobs abroad. But Darling has a chance to escape: she has an aunt in America. She travels to this new land in search of America's famous abundance only to find that her options as an immigrant are perilously few.

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online

Books & Bites: A Really Awesome Mess

Tuesday, October 21,  03:30pm

BNB2Really

A funny, sad, and remarkable story with a hint of Recovery Road, a sample of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, and a cut of Juno. Justin and Emmy arrive at Heartland Academy, a reform school that will force them to deal with their issues. But along the way they will find a ragtag group of teens who are just as broken, stubborn, and full of sarcasm as themselves. In the end, they might even call each other friends. If you like books by John Green, Gayle Forman and Ned Vizzini, you will want to check out "A Really Awesome Mess" by Trish Cook and Brendan Halpin. 

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online

Sci -Fi/Fantasy Books: Airman

Join other teens that like sci-fi/fantasy and discuss your favorite books and authors. Plymouth Library will provide copies of the books and snacks.airman

On Friday, Sept. 26 at 3:30 p.m., we will discuss Airman by Eion Colfer

Conor Broekhart is sure he is destined to fly. But at 14, he accidentally witnesses the murder of his tutor and the sovereign of the tiny Saltee Islands where he lives, and everything changes. Villainous Marshall Bonvilain throws him into prison, convincing him that his family believes him guilty of the crime. Thus begins his new life as inmate Conor Finn, who devotes his considerable abilities to breaking out of prison and saving the kingdom. Nonstop action, suspense, and romance.

A perfect choice for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent

Sign up online or call 734-453-0750, option 4. Pick up your own copy of the book while supplies last. Read the book then return the date of the meeting for treats and discussion!

Teen User eXperience - TUX

Come be a part of the Teen User Experience!  Share your ideas on how to make the Teen Zone and programs be a "perfect fit" for you and other teen patrons.  Meetings are scheduled on

Monday, September 15, 3:30 pm

Monday, October 20, 3:30 pm

Monday, November 17, 3:30 pm

RSVP by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or sign up online

If you can not come to the meetings, but you would like to share some ideas, you can contact Barb Dinan, Teen Services Librarian at 734-453-0750 x 271. Or use our suggestion form to share your ideas.

You are here: Home Teen Zone