Font Size

Font Size
You are here: Home Teen Zone

teenzone_banner_joomla

Sign up here to receive our Wowbrary weekly electronic newsletter highlighting new books, DVDs, music CDs and other library purchases.


feed-image Subscribe to Teen Homepage

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club: The Maze Runner

Join other teens that like sci-fi/fantasy and discuss your favorite books and authors. Plymouth Library will provide copies of the books and snacks.

mazerunnerOn Wednesday, April 30th at 3:30 p.m., we will discuss The Maze Runner by James Dashner. 

Read the first book in the Maze Runner series before the movie comes out.

Thomas, his memory wiped out, is thrust into the center of an enormous maze, where other teens have constructed a survivalist society. No one knows why they're there, or where they came from, but each day they send out runners into the constantly shifting, monster-infested labyrinth to search for a way out. As memories start to trickle back in and circumstances grow increasingly dire, Thomas suspects he knows more about the maze than he should. 

A perfect choice for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent

Sign up online or call 734-453-0750, option 4. Pick up your own copy of the book while supplies last. Read the book then return the date of the meeting for treats and discussion!

Looking for Alaska

Due to poplooking4alaskaular demand, we are adding another Teen Book Discussion for National Library Week. Teens in Grades 7-12 are invited to come to discuss Looking for Alaska by John Green on Wednesday, April 16, at 3:30 p.m.

The award-winning, genre-defining debut from #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars.  Fascinated by the last words of famous people, Pudge leaves for boarding school to seek what a dying Rabelais called the "Great Perhaps." Pudge becomes encircled by friends whose lives are everything but safe and boring. Their nucleus is razor-sharp, sexy, and self-destructive Alaska, who has perfected the arts of pranking and evading school rules. Pudge falls impossibly in love. When tragedy strikes the close-knit group, it is only in coming face-to-face with death that Pudge discovers the value of living and loving unconditionally.

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online and pick up your own copy of this book at the Reader's Advisory desk while supplies last. Drinks and snacks provided.

March Madness for Teen Books

The Sweet 16 are now the Elite Eight.

Who will make the Final Four?

The match ups are:

Divergent vs The Fifth Wave.

Matched vs Every Day.

The Fault in Our Stars vs Thirteen Reasons Why. 

The Book Thief vs The Leviathan Trilogy. 

Come to the library or download your ballot here. Choose your winners in bracket and return your ballot to the library for a sweet treat and a chance to win the grand prize.

Make It: Kitty Forts

KittyFortHumane

On Tuesday, April 8th at 3:30pm we will be making kitty forts for the Humane Society. Have fun making a snug home for the cats and kittens and earn community service credits. 

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online.

S.T.E.M. - Engineering Challenges

boat

Kids in grades 4-8, join us for two engineering challenges brought to us by the STEM Academy students at Canton High School. On Thursday, April 10 at 3:30 pm take the "Egg Drop Challenge". Build a system that will protect your egg from the highest drop and win a prize! 

On Thursday, May 8 at 3:30 pm  take the Build-A-Boat Challenge. The boat that holds the most cargo wins!  

Sign-up for either or both of these programs by phone at 734.453.0750, ext. 4, or online.

Free Comic Book Day Party

gingerbreadheroes

On Free Comic Book Day, Saturday May 3 from 1pm-4pm, teens are invited to decorate sugar cookies to look like super-heroes. We will watch a super-hero movie. Participants will be able to pick out a free comic book to take home and keep.

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online.

Books & Bites: Endangered

endangeredTUESDAY, APRIL 15, 3:30 p.m.
Endangered by Eliot Schefer

A compelling tale of a girl who must save a group of bonobos -- and herself -- from a violent coup in Congo.

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online and pick up your own copy of this book at the Reader's Advisory desk while supplies last. Drinks and snacks provided.

Make It: Marshmallow Design

Join us on Wednesday, April 23 at 1pm to create art with with marshmallow bunnies, chicks, and toothpicks. 

Sign up by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or online.

 

Teen User eXperience - TUX

Come be a part of the Teen User Experience!  Share your ideas on how to make the Teen Zone and programs be a "perfect fit" for you and other teen patrons.  Meetings are scheduled on

Thursday, April 17 at 7pm, and

Saturday, May 17 at 1pm (This will be a short meeting and it will be followed by a pizza and games party for all our teen volunteers from 2013 and 2014!)

RSVP by calling 734-453-0750 #4 or sign up online

If you can not come to the meetings, but you would like to share some ideas, you can contact Barb Dinan, Teen Services Librarian at 734-453-0750 x 271. Or use our suggestion form to share your ideas.

NHS Tutors for Homework Help

national_honor_society_logo

NHS student tutors volunteer at Plymouth Library to provide tutoring for students in grades 3-12.

Tutoring will take place in the Teen Zone every Wednesday after school from 4:00pm-6:00pm and Thursday evenings from 6:00pm - 8:00pm.

This program is very popular, so it is advisable to call to schedule a time in advance at 734-453-0750, #4.

NHS tutors also volunteer at the Canton Library on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays from 6:00pm-8:00pm. 

Note that tutors are only availabe on school days. Tutors are NOT at the libraries on snow days and school breaks.

Thank you to the PCCS NHS for making this service available. 


icon_wirelessprinting When you use Plymouth District Library's wireless network you have agreed to accept our Internet Use Policy.

Wireless access is provided using a public, unsecured network.
You are here: Home Teen Zone