Font Size

Font Size


Adult Book News


catch22Joseph Heller's Catch-22, the iconic, satirical send-up of war and bureaucracy that created the perfect phrase to describe a hopelessly no-win situation, was published in 1961. Fifty years later it remains a classic of American literature and is one of the funniest books ever written.  Set in Italy during World War II, it introduces Yossarian, a bombardier who is attempting to survive the war despite the U S. Army policy - the Catch-22 - that keeps increasing the number of missions he must fly to complete his service.  The novel has sold more than 10 million copies, and is read by people from all over the political spectrum, from anti-war activists to the cadets at the U.S. Air Force Academy.  Anniversary celebrations have included presentations, TV interviews, an animated video, and the publication of a 50th Anniversary edition with an introduction by Christopher Buckley.

Masterpiece Mystery: CASE HISTORIES

Enjoying the new Masterpiece Mystery series based on Kate Atkinson's Jackson Brodie books? Besides Case Histories, Brodie is featured in three other titles: One Good Turn, When Will There be Good News?, and Started Early, Took My Dog. Potrayed by Jason Isaacs (Lucius Malfoy in the Harry Potter films), Brodie is a tough private detective with a soft heart who can't resist coming to the rescue of the lost and lonely. Atkinson's mysteries are not typical crime novels, they unfold leisurely with alternating points of view and seeming tangents. "The mysteries Atkinson is most invested in are those of the human heart." (NYTimes)

2011 National Book Awards


Finalists Announced
Winners will be announced at the National Book Awards Ceremony on November 16, 2011 in  New York.
Finalists for fiction are The Tiger's Wife by Tea Obrecht, The Sojourn by Andrew Krivak, The Buddha in
the Attic by Julie Otsuka, Binocular Vision by Edith Pearlman, and Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward.
The National Book Awards are the preeminent literary prizes in the United States and have been awarded
since 1950 by the National Book Foundation in order to recognize exceptional books written by American
authors and to increase public awareness of reading in general.

World Zombie Day

October 8th is World Zombie Day

prideRead up on some of your favorite literary undead characters here at the Library. Titles include the ever popular parody Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (optioned for film), Zombies! Zombies! Zombies!, a short story collection, and Warm Bodies,  about a zombie who falls in love with a human. Literary mashups like The War of Worlds, Plus Blood, Guts, and Zombies and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and the Undead are a great way to get your zombie on!

New Books with Buzz!

Media buzz is building for several newly released books.  Reviewers have praised debut novelist Chad Harbach for his baseball themed coming-of-age tale, The Art of Fielding#6 on the New York Times Bestseller list.

Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, featuring rival magicians who fall in love, has been released to much fanfare.

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles continues to climb the lists since it was picked as an  Early Show read. 

The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, about a foster child who uses the Victorian language of flowers to find her way in the world, is turning out to be a sleeper hit. 



Great Michigan Read 2011-12

low-res_coverGMR_logoArc of Justice: A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age by Kevin Boyle

Plymouth patrons will once again join hundreds of communities across the state participating in the Great Michigan Read, the statewide one-book reading initiative sponsored by the Michigan Humanities Council, by reading Arc of Justice: A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder by native Detroiter Kevin Boyle. Arc of Justice tells the story of Detroit in the Roaring Twenties when Ossian Sweet, an African American physician, purchased a home for his family in an all-white Detroit neighborhood in 1925, and started the chain of events that eventually led to a sensational murder trial, with the famous attorney Clarence Darrow for the defense. Arc of Justice was published in 2004 and garnered high praise, winning the 2004 National Book Award, and nominations for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. It was named a Michigan Notable Book in 2005, and is the basis for the play Malice Aforethought: the Sweet Trials, performed at the University of Detroit Mercy in 2007.

Read more: Great Michigan Read 2011-12