Phone Book & Directory Assistance
1-800 Toll-Free Directory on the Internet
The AmeriCom Long Distance Area Decoder
AnyWho: Internet Directory Assistance (from AT&T) Toll-Free Numbers, Maps, Directions, White & Yellow Pages, Reverse Directory
Canada 411 - On-line telephone directory for Canada.
Canada Yellow Pages
AT&T Local Call Lookup Find out which telephone prefix combinations are within your local calling area.
Switchboard: The People and Business Directory
Atlases & Maps
Atlas, New National New atlas from the government can show population density, transportation, wildlife habitation etc. Maps may be downloaded and printed.
Atlas, World Find maps of continents & countries. Customize to show land forms & cities. Maps may be printed.
(gazetteer) Hometown Locator One resource provides maps, population, Census 2000 info and more for U.S. locations.
How Far Is It? - Using data from the U.S. Census, find the longitude and latitude of two places and then calculate the distance between them.
U.S. Gazetteer (Based on data from the U.S. Census Bureau)
Map Quest U.S., Canadian and World maps with driving directions.
Zip Codes
Canadian Postal Code Lookup
ZIP Code Lookup and Address Information
Dictionaries, Almanac & Thesaurus
Dictionaries, OneLook - Site offers access to over 460 dictionaries, general and specialized - including a dictionary of homophones.
Dictionaries - yourDictionary.com - Access more than 1,800 dictionaries in more than 250 languages. Selected as Reference Site of the year, 2000.
Information Please Almanacs Three almanacs (general, entertainment and sports) plus biographies, dictionary and an on-line encyclopedia.
Thesaurus on-line
Consumer Information
Complaints - Who to call in the state government for consumer complaints.
Consumer Price Indexes
Edmund's Automobile Buyer's Guides (new & used)
Foreclosure Help - for those in Wayne County
Kelly Blue Book Site gives new and used car values as well as Blue Book values on motorcycles, dirt bikes, scotters, mopeds, personal watercraft and snowmobiles.
Lawyer Locator From Martindale-Hubbell
Calculators & Conversion Tables
Currency Converter by OANDA, Inc.
Math Calculators and Formulas
Measurements Converter
Measurements from Online Conversion Convert just about anything to anything else
Mortgage Calculator from Bankrate.com
Savings Bonds Value Calculator
Foreign Language Translators
Foreign Language Translator Translates Spanish, French and German into English as well as English into six foreign languages.
(Foreign Language) Babel Fish Translator Yahoo's Babel Fish will help with foreign language text, web pages & e-mail.
|
|
Government Information
Census, U.S. Economic - for 2012 - Profiles the US economy, from the national to the local level. These are done every 5 years.
Census Tract Street Locator Look up street addresses by state or county or a specific address within a ZIP code.
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments (last updated 10/2007)
County and City Data Book (2007 edition)
FedStats - One stop shopping for Federal Statistics from more than 70 Government agencies
FirstGov - Official website for searching the U.S. Government
Government Printing Office - Links to information on many U.S. Government departments and agencies.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service - good for statistics on crime and punishment
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2011
U.S. Census Bureau
World Factbook
Library Related
Dewey Decimal System, a guide to
Librarians' Index to the Internet More than 7,000 resources indexed on the Web in directory format.
Literary
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
Citing Electronic References Format by the American Psychological Association.
Citing Sources - MLA Style from Purdue University
Literary Criticism Collection Online Browse by author's last name or Literary period or nationality - from the Internet Public Library.
NovelGuide Study guides for novels frequently assigned in school.
Poetry - A First-Line Index of Poems in Representative Poetry On-Line
Spark Notes - On-line Study Guides for literary works (similar to Cliff's Notes)
People and Names
Biography.Com Short biographies on 25,000 notable people
Dead People Server
Names - Behind the Name The meaning and history of first names.
Other Reference Sites
History - This Day in History - The History Channel shows events that happened on any day of the year you select.
How Stuff Works - This site offers clear explanations about the operation of a wide range of things such as car engines, television, radar and many more everyday things.
INTA Trademark Checklist from the International Trademark Association Listings for nearly 3,000 registered trademarks and service marks.
NationMaster.com Compare nations graphically using many different kinds of statistics.
(NAICS) North American Industry Classification System This system will be replacing the SIC system.
Perpetual Calendar
RefDesk.Com - "Facts and Reference: best source for facts on the net."
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes
TIP, a service of Detroit Public Library Community Information & Referral Service.
Traffic.Com - Find live traffic reports for major US Cities.
US States and Capitals Pages
Vital Records Information - United States Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce records information for U.S. states and territories.
Weather Data, Historical for 2000 cities worldwide
Word IQ.com - Search for a word in a dictionary, encyclopedia, an e-book, on the bed, or in a thesauras, all from one site.
|