Font Size

Font Size
You are here: Home Research Research by Subject Music

Music Resources on the Web

score 2Jump to:   General   |  Genres |  Local Music Venues  |  Special Collections  



The Blue Highway
Blues news, new blues, tributes to the blues greats, radio listings from everywhere.

Folks Like Us
Local blues radio program host Matt Watroba presents playlists, local concerts, and folk music reviews.

The Blues Foundation
Links to festivals, regional associations, essays, hall of fame, and awards.


Classical Net Home Page
List of basic repertoire of the Western tradition, CD buying guide & composer data.

Build a free classical music website, choose a classical music radio station, read the latest news in the classical music world, & review the Illustrated Classical Music Guide.

Reviews hundreds of new classical recordings each month.

Essentials of Music
Information on eras, composers and terms presented by W.W. Norton & Sony Classical.


Academy of Country Music
More than a listing of all Country Music Award winners, this site has links to news and events for country music fans.

Country Music Television
In addition to news, photos, bios, music and video… home to the CMT Awards.

Great American Country
Companion to GAC Television channel with news, photos, biographies, music and video.


Folk Alley
Streaming folk music (free registration required), new release list, news & events.

The Roots Music Project with Jeremy Baldwin
Jeremy Baldwin hosts The Roots Music Project on WEMU, 89.1, on Saturdays at 4:00pm.

Smithsonian Folkways
Their mission is to document the people's music... sounds from around the world.


On-Line magazine for contemporary Christian music.

The Cyber Hymnal
Lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures and history of over 2500 Christian hymns and gospel music.

Dove Awards
30-year history of gospel music award winners.


All About Jazz
Publishes hundreds of CD reviews each month and reports on artists from the avant-garde to more traditional jazz forms.

DownBeat Magazine
Jazz news, reviews, festivals and archival interviews.

Large archive of CD reviews, mainly of contemporary jazz.

The Red Hot Jazz Archive
Excellent material on early jazz.

Calendar of and links to dozens of jazz festivals in the U.S. and abroad.


Aria Database
Translations, voice, synopses.

Gilbert & Sullivan Archive
Search the libretti, find the festivals, join a fan club, read the discography.

Opera performance schedules, festivals, reviews from leading newspapers, timelines of composers and their works.


All Hip Hop
News, features, reviews, editorials.

Motown Historical Museum


Reviews, bands, calendars, more.

Review compiler of respected critics and publications.

MTV Online
Music news, concerts, and reviews.

Nefarious Net
Electronic music in Detroit.

Definitive source for news, reviews, and events for indie & alternative music.

Promotes new music and emerging artists.

Resident Advisor
Source for dance and electronic reviews and news.

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
Includes “today” in rock and roll history.
Multi-media on-line magazine.

Ultimate Band List
Online destination for independent and unsigned bands.


American Film Institute
Lists of greatest movie musicals, film scores, song.  (Free registration required.)

Musicals 101
History, film list, reviews, biographies.

Soundtrack Net
News, reviews and links regarding television and film music.

Talkin’ Broadway
Includes cast album database and upcoming album releases.

Internet Broadway Database
Search by song, character, show, people, theatres, etc.

World Music

Resource for information on Latin dance music, downloads, CDs, and DVDs. Specializes in Salsa, Latin Jazz, Timba, Rumba, Lucumí, Afro-Cuban, Bomba, Plena, Boogalú and more!

Directory from the University of Washington Music Library to links related to ethnomusicology, folk music and world music.

Listen to the World (from National Geographic)
World music genres, history and sound.

Roots World; listening to the planet
An online magazine of music from around the world with an emphasis on local sounds.


AMG All Music Guide
Guide to a wide variety of genres; search by artist, songs, album, style, or label.

Billboard Online
Daily music update, new releases, industry news, performance dates.

The Grammy Awards
Search for past winners, history of the Grammy Award and feature articles.
A music recommendation service.

Lyrics Servers:  LyricsFreak, Lyricwiki

Music Awards

Professional Music Organizations

Pulitzer Prize in Music
Awarded since 1943, cash prizes are given "for distinguished musical composition."

Sing-Along Songs
Midis and lyrics are provided for your favorite children’s, patriotic, holiday, and musicals songs. 

Television Tunes

Local Music Venues

Detroit Opera House, Fisher Theatre, Masonic Temple – Broadway in Detroit Detroit

Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Leonard Slatkin, Music Director

Music Venues, Experience Detroit
Music venues in the Detroit Metro area from Chene Park to St. Andrews Hall

Fox Theatre, Joe Louis Arena, Cobo Arena, Comerica Park, The City Theatre - Detroit

Great Lakes Chamber Music Festival
The two week festival was born in 1994 of a remarkable relationship between religious and cultural institutions. Each year more than 20 concerts are performed during two weeks in June

Live Music in the Detroit area

Michigan Opera Theater

New Music Detroit (NMD)
Founded in 2006, this collective of  musicians perform groundbreaking music from the late 20th century to the present.  They perform in a variety of settings and regularly feature prominent guest artists.  In September of each year they do a "Strange Beautiful Music" marathon.

Palace of Auburn Hills, DTE Energy Music Theatre, Meadow Brook Music Festival
– Auburn Hills, Clarkston, Rochester Hills

Michigan Philharmonic, Nan Washburn, Music Director & Conductor

University Musical Society– University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Village Theater

Metro Times Music

Special Collections

The Center for Black Music Research
Research unit of Columbia College Chicago devoted to research, preservation, and dissemination of information about the history of black music on a global scale.

Historic American Sheet Music (Duke University)
A digital image database of 19th and early 20th Century American sheet music.

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music (Johns Hopkins University)
Popular American music spanning the period 1780-1960

Library of Congress Presents... Music, Theater & Dance
Guide to special collections including Civil War sheet music, roots of country music, jazz & blues in film, rag, Sousa, and more.

Templeton Music Collection (Mississippi State University)
Archive of sheet music which ranges from 1890s to 1940s, encompassing blues, minstrel, rag and war.


You are here: Home Research Research by Subject Music