Font Size

Font Size
You are here: Home Research Research by Subject Health

Health & Wellness

GO DIRECTLY TO:    Cautions  | One Stop Resources  | Quick Reference & Directories  | General Health & Disease Sites  | Specific Diseases, Conditions and Procedures  | Diet & Nutrition  | Medications & Therapies  | Facilities Evaluations  | Senior Health  | Eating Disorders  | Miscellaneous   | Substance Abuse 


Healthcare Questionsistock_medical_clipboard_xsmall

Where can I read about the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act? - Visit healthcare.gov and learn about the Health Insurance Marketplace launched October 1, 2013.

What are my Health Insurance options in Michigan? - From the Michigan Department of Insurance & Financial Services... Understanding Health Coverage, Consumer Education & Outreach, Shopping for Health Care Insurance, Understanding the New Health Care Law, and so on.

Enroll Michigan - a statewide network of non-profit agencies providing free enrollment support services to health insurance consumers.  Available from this site is a statewide network of Navigators and Certified Application Counselors (CACs) available to assist you or your small business, at no cost, in understanding your enrollment options.

Where can I read about Influenza and the Flu Vaccine? - Find key facts about influenza (flu), the contagious respiratory illness, at the CDC website (Centers For Disease Control & Prevention).

CDC Information about Enterovirus D68 (dated 9/16/2014)

CDC Information about Ebola

What should I do after I have a Diagnosis? Resource to help you to use research and other information to make the best treatment decisions for you.

Where can I find more information? The National Library of Medicine can help you find health information resources.

Which questions should I ask my doctor before having Surgery? Find out about the questions to ask your surgeon about the operation; if you should have it, when to have it, and where you should have it.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Cautions

Medline Plus - Evaluating Internet Health Information: A tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

FDA Consumer Protection - How to recognize a quack or scam and how to report a complaint (also covers telemarketing, internet, dangerous products, safety alerts, etc.).

U.S. Food & Drug Administration - Answers to questions about medical devices, medicines, and food supplements that are mislabeled, misrepresented, or in some way harmful.

 

 Evaluating Medical Resources on the Web

Council of Better Business Bureaus - Publications and advice on health products.

Federal Trade Commission - This organization looks into charges of false advertising in publications or on the radio and TV.

 


 

One Stop Resources

Medline Plus - One stop for patient consumer users provided by the National Library of Medicine.

NIH SeniorHealth.gov - This website for older adults was developed by the National Institute on Aging and the National Library of Medicine, both part of the National Institutes of Health.

Michigan Department of Community Health - One stop site for information on health care assistance, including how to get free or low cost health care.


 

Quick Reference and Directories

CDC Travel Information - Health information for International travel.

Household Products - From the National Library of Medicine, this site contains safety information on over 4,000 common products.

Medline Plus Directories of physicians, health professionals, hospitals, and health facilities

Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition - On-line home edition of The Merck Manual.

Michigan Regional Poison Control Center - at DMC Children's Hospital of Michigan.  Call 1-800-222-1222

Tox Town - an interactive guide to common toxic substances encournered in everyday places - from the National Library of Medicine.

Womenshealth.gov - The Federal Government Source for Women's Health Information


 

General Health & Disease Sites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Promotes health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease injury & disability.

Family Doctor.Org - Health information handouts provided by the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Health & Medical Library - A University of Michigan site for consumers seeking information and access to health care services.

 

healthfinder - A gateway to consumer health and human services information from the U.S. Government.

KidsHealth - Devoted to the health of children and teens - accurate, up-to-date info on growth, food, fitness, diseases, medical and surgical conditions, and the latest treatments.

Mayo Clinic Health - Reliable, daily news on diseases, treatments, drugs & diet for the whole family.

PubMed - Searches Medline for articles on diseases, drugs, treatments. etc.; many full-text.

 


 

Senior Health Resources

Medicare - The official U.S. Government site for Medicare.

 

 

NIH SeniorHealth - Aging-related health information easily accessible and designed especially for seniors.

Medicare & You
The official handbook from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.


 

Specific Diseases, Conditions and Procedures

American Cancer Society - Cancer Treatment decision tools

CDC's Diabetes and Public Health Resource
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) translates scientific research findings into health promotion, disease prevention, and treatment strategies for Diabetes.

National Cancer Institute - All information has been reviewed by oncology experts and is based on the results of current research; For the patient, health professional, or basic researcher.

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases Information Clearinghouse - Information on issues and products related to arthritis.

 

OncoLink - Comprehensive coverage of cancer diagnosis, treatment and prevention.

Patient Education Resource Center (University of Michigan Cancer Center)
Lists of information sources relating to a specific cancer diagnosis or issue

TransWeb - All about transplantation and donation.

MD Support - Offers free information for people dealing with macular degeneration and similar retinal diseases.

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute - Informational pamphlets on heart & lung diseases available full-text on line.

 


 

Diet & Nutrition

The American Dietetic Association - Organization's site for promoting optimal nutrition, health & well being for diabetics and their families.

Food and Nutrition Information Center of the US Department of Agriculture - Comprehensive source of food composition and nutrition links.

Nutrition.gov - Provides easy access to all online federal government information on nutrition.


 

Medications & Therapies

MedicineNet - A free medical reference to diseases and treatments, a medical dictionary, medical news, and an alphabetical listing of drugs. (commercial site)

Medline Plus Health Information Drug Information - A guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine.

______________________________________________________________________________

Substance Abuse

National Institute on Drug Abuse - Common Drugs of Abuse Information.

NIDA - Club Drugs Home - Information on "club drugs" such as MDMA (Ecstasy), GHB, Rohypnol, ketamine, methamphetamine, and LSD.

Partnership for a Drug-Free America - Information to help kids and teens reject substance abuse.

Drug Abuse Statistics - From Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

MEDLINE Plus: Drug Abuse - News, research, and treatment from the National Library of Medicine.

MEDLINE Plus: Alcoholism - News, research, and treatment from the National Library of Medicine.


 

Eating Disorders

National Eating Disorders Association - Comprehensive site that covers all aspects of eating disorders with referrals for treatment.

Something Fishy: Website on Eating Disorders - The personal project of a recovering anorexic, this site discusses not only the disorders, but also cultural roles and the part the media plays in promoting positive body images.

National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders - This site focuses on immediate support, direction and help for those with eating disorders.

Kids Health - Search this site under "eating disorders" and find over 30 articles written specifically for children, teens and parents on eating disorders, exercise, and body image.

The National Eating Disorder Information Centre - Professional, informative site that offers positive images and coping strategies for those with eating disorders.


 

Facilities Evaluations

America's Best Hospitals - Annual report from U.S. News & World Report of top medical centers in various specialities.

Hospital Compare - A tool to compare hospitals, provided by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

Nursing Home Compare - Information from Medicare regarding choosing a nursing home, a checklist to help in comparing homes and much more.


 

Miscellaneous

Attention Deficit Disorder Association - The world's leading Adult AD/HD Organization

Disability Resources on the Internet - Lists resources by geographic location or topic.

Genetics Home Reference - Find answers to your genetic questions, genetic conditions, and the genes responsible for those conditions.

FirstGov for Consumers - Health information.

ClinicalTrials.gov Current information about clinical research studies.

Peace of Mind - A do it yourself guide to medical & legal decisions (prepared by the Michigan Legislature).

U of M. Health Systems's Advance Directives and Living Will information. - Includes forms

FASTATS - National Center for Health Statistics provides statistics on health topics A-Z

Your Child - A Parent's Guide to Health and Safety (prepared by the Michigan Legislature).

You are here: Home Research Research by Subject Health