Font Size

Font Size
  • Family History Library is located at the rear of the Westland Stake, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Their address is: 7575 North Hix Road, Westland MI 48185.
    Phone number: (734) 459-4570
    Current hours for research are: Tuesdays & Thursdays: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm & 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

 

  • Western Wayne County Genealogical Society : Meetings are held on the third Monday evening, September through May, at 7:30pm, in the Livonia Civic Park Senior Center Building,15218 Farmington Road.  See their web page for more info.

 

  • Northville Genealogical Society: Meetings are held on the second Sunday of the month (unless noted) in the Northville District Library.
    Phone number: 248-349-3020. Visit their web page - for information about their beginning genealogy classes.

1870 Census of Michigan (Federal) Full U.S. Michigan Census searchable on-line. Image of census page may be viewed & printed.

Burton Historical Collection, Detroit Public Library

Caleb Johnson's Mayflower Web Page

Detroit Society of Genealogical Research

Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900

Library of Michigan, Genealogy & Local History

Michigan Cemetery Sources - A compilation of published cemetery transcriptions located at the Library of Michigan. It also identifies the location of over 3,700 cemeteries in Michigan.

Seeking Michigan - Includes images of Michigan death records, 1897-1920 as well as Civil War Service Records and other Michigan-related materials.

Michigan County Histories - Full text of 192 histories dating from 1866 to 1926.

Mount Clemens Library - List of many Macomb County on-line resources

Native American Genealogy

New England Historic Genealogical Society

Palatines to America

Riverside Cemetery Transcriptions, Plymouth MI

Vital Records State Index

Wayne County Cemetery Transcriptions Transcriptions of many of Wayne County's cemeteries.

Gen Forum - search by forum name, surname, locality, or general topic.

Family Search e-mail lists - Over 177,000 different e-mail lists pertaining to surnames, localities and general genealogy topics

Ancestry Message Boards - search by name, geographic region or topic. Use their advanced search option.

Cyndi's List for Queries and Message Boards - Look here for a list of boards, newsgroups & lists dealing with genealogy.

 

Genealogy Guide Information from the U.S. Census Bureau

Great Lakes Region Branch of the National Archives

Library of Congress

National Archives Genealogy Page

Access to Archival Databases Online access to a selection of nearly 50 million historic electronic records created by more than 20 federal agencies on a wide range of topics including Famine Irish Passenger Record Data.

National Personnel Records Center

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)

The Official Land Patent Records Site For select states, including Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and others

 

 

1870dunn_gwBeginning your genealogical research Instructions from the Library of Michigan

Family History - How do I begin? Info from the Family History Center of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Obtaining Enumeration Districts for the 1930 Census

RootsWeb's Guide to Tracing Family Trees 30 lessons on basic genealogy

Soundex Conversation Program

Treasure Maps: The How-to Genealogy WWW Site

istock_genealogy2_xsmall

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Comprehensive list of genealogy sites on the Internet covering the United States and the world.

Castle Garden Records ~ information on 10 million immigrants who passed through the port of New York from 1830 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened.

Ellis Island Records Includes arrival records for 22 million immigrants who entered the port of New York from 1892 to 1924. (This is 70% of all U.S. arrivals recorded in that time period.)

Chronicling America: Find information about Historic American Newspapers, published 1690 - present. Search by location, date, or newspaper title and find out what is available in which library.

Family History Archive at Brigham Young University:
Published genealogy and family history books presented digitally. Books come from Libraries such as Allen County Public, Mid-Continent Public Library, & the Houston Public Library.

 

Family Search  Comprehensive site for vital records, U.S. Census records, church records and much more from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormons). 

U.S. GenWeb Project This nonprofit group is committed to providing web sites for every state and county in the United States. They also sponsor The Tombstone Transcription Project

Online Searchable Death Indexes & Records "This website gathers together links to online death indexes by state and county." Included are cemetery and burial lists as well as the death indexes.

Rootsweb - One of the largest mailing groups for Genealogy.