Jump to: General Interest sites | How-to's & Helpers | U.S. Gov't Resources | State & Regional | Message Boards & Mail Lists
Plymouth City Directories Online through two Databases
The Library currently owns five Plymouth City Directories in print format -1933, 1946, 1953, 1968 and 1979. These are kept in the Reference Michigan Collection.
In addition to these, patrons may also find Plymouth City Directories ONLINE through both Ancestry.com (in the Library) or the NEW HeritageQuest database which may be accessed either in library or from home. If you look under "City Directories", you will find Plymouth Directories available in full image for these years: 1938, 1941, 1943, 1946, 1948, 1951, 1953, 1956, 1957, 1958 and 1960.
For those tracking local businesses, people or general information regarding the city government, population, number of parks, schools etc, these directories are a gold mine of information. Also keep in mind, the Northville is also included in the vast majority of these directories as well as Plymouth.
More Michigan Death Records Available!
News posted on seekingmichigan.org website:
"Today is Seeking Michigan’s sixth birthday, and the Archives of Michigan is thrilled to announce that images of Michigan death certificates from 1921-1939 are now available for free here at Seeking Michigan. The index for records from 1940-1952 will be made available in the next few weeks, with additional certificate images to be released each year as privacy restrictions are lifted; for example, 1940 images will be released in January 2016. Together with the records from 1897-1920 that have been available here for years, this collection makes Seeking Michigan the one-stop destination for more than 2.6 million free, publicly-available 20th century death records for your Michigan ancestors."
New Look and Content for HeritageQuest
ProQuest made this announcement today, March 4, 2015:
HeritageQuest Online is now powered by Ancestry.com, providing exciting new content, new search pages, and new tools previously unavailable in HeritageQuest Online.
- New Content:
- Now available for searching is the entire U.S. Federal Census collection from Ancestry.com including supplements (e.g., 1940 Enumeration District Maps) and several schedules (e.g., non-population schedules) previously not included for searching.
- 20,000 city directories have been added to the existing city directories in the Book collection, increasing the size of the Books collection to more than 45,000 titles!
- Expanded content in our Revolutionary War Collection! The entirety of the NARA Series M804 is now included here, providing access not only to the previously available "Selected Records" (Series M805) but now also to the "Non-Selected" records of each file. Learn more in the Content > Revolutionary War section of this guide!
- New Search & Results Pages: Four of the six collections (Census, Books, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman's Bank records) have brand new search pages with limits, exact matching options, and additional fields for searching.
- New Tools: We have partnered with Ancestry.com not only to upgrade the search interface and add new content, but to bring you additional tools for making the search experience easier. You will now have access to Ancestry.com's:
- Ancestry.com's Interactive Image Viewer when using the Census, Books, Revolutionary War, and Freedman's Bank collections
- The Research Aids resources for learning opportunities for novice, intermediate, and advanced searchers.
- Access to Ancestry.com's Discoveries Page!
Ancestry to Discontinue 5 Services
The information below was taken from Ancestry.com's blog, posted by Eric Shoup on June 4, 2014 in Ancestry.com Site:
"We’re proud of the variety of products we’ve created over the years that enable people to discover, preserve and share their family history. We recognize that there are a lot of ways that we, as a company, can make family history easier, more accessible and more fun for people all over the world. And we’re continually innovating to make it a reality. We’re always looking to focus our efforts in a way that provide the most impact, while also delivering the best service and best product experience to users. To that end, we’ve decided to retire some of our services: MyFamily, MyCanvas, Genealogy.com, Mundia and the Y-DNA and mtDNA tests. We will note that the AncestryDNA (autosomal) test will continue to be available for purchase. Only the y-DNA and mtDNA tests will be retired. Starting September 5, 2014, these services will no longer be available to access. Genealogy.com is the exception to the rule, and will continue in a slightly different form. If you are an active member or subscriber to one of these services, you will be contacted directly with details of how to transition the information you’ve created using these services. We know these services have provided value to you. We think they’re pretty cool too, which is why this wasn’t an easy decision for us to make. In the end, it came down to priorities and we think our core offerings are a great place to spend our time and resources. So here’s to revolutionizing family history, focusing on providing the best product experience we can offer and to the limitless possibilities that lie before us." -
See more at: http://blogs.ancestry.com/ancestry/2014/06/04/ancestry-com-focuses-on-core-offerings/#sthash.L06g4MGd.dpuf
New Genealogy Books
Three new genealogy books have recently been added to the Library's collection. These are:
The Genealogist's U.S. History Pocket Reference; Quick Facts & Timelines of American History to Help Understand Your Ancestors by Nancy Hendrickson.
This small book contains territorial growth maps, lists of important dates within a time frame, information on what is included in a particular census and much more. It helps to place ancestors within the context of what was happening in America during a particular time in their lives.
Find this book on the Upper Level in the Genealogy Collection under the call number 929 H.
Bad News Regarding the Social Security Death Index
Here is information recently posted on the Legal Genealogist's Blog regarding the SSDI. For the entire article, please go to: http://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog/2013/12/30/ssdi-access-now-limited/
"Here’s the big immediate impact, and it’s from the fact that the FOIA exemption took effect the minute the budget bill was signed: genealogists should not — I repeat, we should not — order SS-5 forms (requests for issuance of a Social Security number) for anyone who has died in the last three years.
The FOIA exemption means that all requests for “information on the name, social security account number, date of birth, and date of death of deceased individuals maintained by the Commissioner of Social Security” of people who’ve died in the three calendar years before the request will be denied. So there’s no sense in wasting our time or money sending in tons of requests for SS-5s on recently-deceased relatives.
The second big effect will be to stop reporting new deaths on the SSDI, and while the law says it won’t take effect for 90 days from the signing of the law — or 26 March 2014 — it’s unlikely that any updated version of the SSDI will be available from now on until three calendar years have passed from the date of any individual’s death.
As of today, existing SSDI data that’s online is remaining online. No online service provider has indicated any intention of pulling any information that’s already available. But new information won’t be available for some time."
New Genealogy Books, Sept. 2013 @ the Library
Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques
by George G. Morgan and Drew Smith
Professional genealogists team up to write an in depth book on advanced methods in tracing your family history. A variety of software programs are discussed as well as social media resources and even DNA profiling for genealogy research. Please note - this is NOT for beginners, but rather those who have been researching for a while and may have run into brick walls.
Find this new book along with others on the same topic on the Upper Level of the Library in the Genealogy Collection under the call number of 929 M.
Finding Your Father's War: A Practical Guide to Researching and Understanding Service in the World War II U.S. Army
by Jonathan Gawne.
Although this book was originally published in 2006, the new edition is completely revised and updated. The author, Johathan Gawne is a noted military researcher and historian. He details the various techniques he personally uses when researching archives, libraries and military associations in search of information.
This new book is located on the Upper Level of the Library in the Genealogy Collection with the call number of 929.1G.
Additional Michigan Deaths indexed
Ancestry Library Edition has just posted Michigan Death Indexes covering the years 1971-1996 on their database. According to their description on the web site, "With over 2 million records, the Michigan Death Index covers the years from 1971 to 1996, making this database of particular interest to those with relatives from Michigan. Each entry includes the following information: the full name of the decedent, gender, birth and death dates, the state, county and town of residence at time of death." Also given is a link to fill out to order the actual death certificate from the Michigan Department of Health.
Ancestry Library Edition may be accessed from computers within the Plymouth District Library. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, no remote access is available for our patrons.
New Michigan vital records online
FamilySearch.org adds online collection of Michigan Death Certificates, 1921-1952. According to their website, this new addition is a name index and images of death records from the Michigan Department of Community Health, Division for Vital Records and Health Statistics in Lansing.
This valuable addition to Michigan research came online in late April, but for the present, no images are available - only the name index with basic information regarding parents, age and date of death, and location. Eventually, the death certificate images are due to be added to the site. Search this collection at : https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1968532
Historical Records for Archdiocese of Detroit
Roman Catholic Church Records in the Archdiocese of Detroit
Including the Counties of Wayne, Macomb, Monroe, Lapeer, Oakland and St. Clair as well as the Counties of Lenawee & Washtenaw, which were part of this diocese at the time of publication. This work was done as part of the W.P.A. in 1941.
Find the link here - http://nycnuts.net/genealogy/church/detroit_rc/index.html for a historical look at the beginnings of the Catholic Church in Detroit as well as a listing of where to find records for many of the parishes and institutions that were closed prior to 1941.