Michigan Business One Stop - Your Source for Doing Business in Michigan. Apply for licenses on-line, Register a Business, File Reports Online, Manage Business Taxes and more.
Michigan Insyght - InsYght is a free service that helps you identify exactly what is available to support your business needs. No matter the stage of your idea or business, InsYght gives you access to critical resources that fit your unique profile.
General Business Information
Business Information - provides the small business community with one on one counsel, low cost training and no cost, secondary market and industry research - Provided by Michigan Small Business and Technology Development Center.
Oakland County Community Profiles - Detailed information about Oakland County's 60 cities, villages and townships for 2009.
Researching Companies Online This business research tutorial presents a step-by-step process for finding free company and industry info on the Web.
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information - SEC filings, rules, small business information.
Insurance News Network - Financial strength ratings on insurance companies from Standard & Poors and Fitch Ratings.
Annual Report Service After a free registration, you will have access to hundreds of annual reports.
Directories and Publications
Biztalk Daily business news aimed at entreprenuers looking to grow or start their own companies.
Entrepreneur Magazine "The online Small Business Authority"
Entrepreneurial Edge Online resource for upcoming events, news, information and networking.
Inc. Online "The Web Site for Growing Companies"
Business Week Online version of the weekly magazine.
Crain's Detroit Business Keep up with the local scene, large and small business info.
NumberWay Phone books from around the world including white and yellow pages plus fax and e-mail.
Best Business Books of 2011
Great Lakes Information Network Economy of the Great Lakes Region with news, general resources and publications.
Consumer Price Indexes ~ Current CPI index, news releases, data and other publications.
Business Owner's Toolkit - a resource for small business owners, offering free business plans and startup advice. The section of the site that offers business reports and trademark/patent searches requires registration and fees.
Center for Business Planning - provides resources to help anyone who manages or business or would like to start a business. Information includes acquiring venture capital, business plans, legal issues, and taxes.
Fast Company Cutting edge site defining the new world of business and the people who make it happen.
Michigan Small Business Information links from the Michigan eLibrary.
Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center Counseling, training, research information for manufacturing, retail and service firms.
SCORE-Counselors to America's Small Business - Retired executives volunteering to share their expertise with small businesses.
Small Business Association of Michigan - Organization devoted to the exclusive interest and concern of small business in Michigan.
Small Business Management Knowledge Base - Free starting a business ideas and tips.
Yahoo! - Venture Capital - Find ways to help finance your business.
Yahoo! - Marketing and Advertising Review sites that will help you form your marketing plan.
U.S. Small Business Administration - Starting, financing, expanding your business, plus much more.
U.S. Small Business Administration - Detroit Homepage for the Michigan office of the SBA.
US Patent and Trademark Office - General information, patent searches, forms, fee information, etc.
International Business (General)
globalEDGE - Extensive index to international news, trade information, directories, mailing lists, and government resources
Oxford Analytica - Growing directory of international resources arranged by topic, region, and country
International Monetary Fund - Established to help promote the health of the world economy. Links to the World Economic Outlook, updated each month.
International Trade Data Network - Provides detailed market intelligence.
Kompass - International database of 1.5 million manufacturing companies; excellent site for finding sales prospects
VIBES - Over 1,600 links to international business, trade, country-specific sites, and economic information
BusinessGateway.ca - Information on setting up a business in Canada; everything from financing to taxation to human resources
Canada Business Service Centres - Helps for planning and starting a business in Canada in the “Small Business Toolbox”; links to all the centres in all the provinces and territories
Doing Business in Canada Designed specifically for non-Canadians with valuable links to investment information, starting a business in Canada, import/export details on buying and selling goods
SEDAR Similar to the U.S. EDGAR; contains company financial reports filed with the Canadian securities exchange
Statistics Canada Includes economic indicators, community profiles, demographics, current and future trends, etc.
Industry Canada - Very comprehensive source to explore markets, research products and industries, locate benchmarking tools, and obtain intellectual property information on searchable online databases
Toronto Stock Exchange TSX Group owns and operates Canada’s two national stock exchanges – Toronto Stock Exchange for the senior equity market and TSX Venture Exchange for the venture equity market; site offers quotes, trading, investor relations information and more
Contact our business resources librarian, Tim Sherman.