Font Size

Font Size

Senior Links

 

AARP Estate Planning

Advance Directives: Durable Power of Attorney for Health Care Durable Power of Attorney for Health Care form and booklet from the University of Michigan Health System.

Nolo's Retirement and Elder Care Legal Information - Legal definitions, financial calculators, and encyclopedia articles on legal information for seniors

ElderLaw Answers - Includes legal resources, discussion groups, and find a lawyer

istock_lawbook_xsmall

Justice in Aging - Helping older people to live in dignity and freedom from poverty

Living Trusts - Tips for seniors from the National Consumer Law Center

National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys - Find Elderlaw attorneys in local area. Also provides links to resources for elderly.

National Consumer Law Center - Consumer education, how to get legal assistance.

FindLaw for the Public - Free legal sources and a good place to start.

 

AARP Financial Planning - Retirement Income Featured articles on topics such as "Managing retirement income", "Funding your IRA" and others as well as estate planning, credit and debt, and financial tools.istock_dollarbills_xsmall

Social Security Administration - Apply on-line for retirement or disability benefits; check the status of your application or find out about all aspects of social security. A 'retirement planner' (benefits calculator & eligibility requirements) is available from the pull down menu.

Benefits Checkup - A free, easy-to-use service that identifies federal and state assistance programs for older Americans.

National Association of Securities Dealers - Regulations (including investor alerts), investor education and dispute resolution guidelines.

National Financial Planning Support Center - Brochures & checklists to aid financial planning efforts produced by this Certified Financial Planners Organization.

 

Area Agencies Association of Michigan  - Local agencies by county.

istock_seniors_cards_xsmall

Plymouth Community Council on Aging This non-profit group coordinates "programs, public and private, which promote and safeguard the independence and well being of senior citizens of the greater Plymouth community."

Services for Seniors - Published by the Michigan Legislature, this 34 page booklet details laws and services for the Senior Adult living in Michigan. (NOTE: You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer to read this.)

Southern & Western Wayne County Senior Alliance - Lists local area non-profit & government organizations, community services, housing options, health screening and other informational links of interest to seniors in this area.

Veterans - Benefits and Services - Published by the Michigan Legislature, this 50 page booklet details federal, state, and local programs available to veterans in Michigan. (NOTE: You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer to read this.)

Wayne County Senior Citizens' Services - Summary of programs with links to the liquid nutrition program and the prescription card program.

Agency On Aging - Provides services to seniors in Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair and Washtenaw Counties.




AARP Health Guide - Web sites for older adults, searchable by topics like health, work, free time.

Care Guide - Describes services and provides links to articles and resources regarding care of elderly. Includes a Care Guide Assessment with relevant information and links.

Caregivers' Resources - Find a nursing home, assisted living, or hospice; check your eligibility for benefits; get resources for long-distance caregiving; review legal issues; and find support for caregivers. From the U.S. government's official portal.

Eldercare Locator - The Eldercare Locator is designed to help older adults and their families and caregivers find their way through the maze of services for seniors by identifying trustworthy local support resources.  It is administered in partnership with the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging.

Health for Seniors - Find doctors and healthcare facilities, get Medicare and Medicaid resources, lookup information about prescription drugs, and more.

Medicare - Official government site with up-to-date information on all aspects of Medicare and the prescription plan coverage.

MedLine Plus - MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

My Senior Care -  A community for senior housing, home care and health. 

NIH SeniorHealth
 - Aging-related health information easily accessible and designed especially for seniors.