Font Size

Font Size

Music Lists

Billboard.com recently posted their list of Top 30 Summer Songs of All Time (based on number of weeks ranked at No. 1 from August 1958 to May 2012).  Song titles are listed below.  If the song is available (or On Order) in our music collection, you will see CD Title and Location information.

Year refers to the release date of the song title (not the CD Title listed).

Year Artist(s) Song Title CD Title Location
1984 Don Henley The Boys of Summer    
1965 The Beach Boys California Girls The Very Best of The Beach Boys: Sounds of Summer Rock B
2010 Katy Perry feat. Snoop Dogg California Gurls
Teenage Dream Rock P
1983 Bananarama Cruel Summer    
1988 Richard Marx Endless Summer Nights    
1969 Sly & The Family Stone Hot Fun in the Summertime Greatest Hits R&B S
1970 Mungo Jerry In The Summertime    
1960 Bryan Hyland Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polkadot Bikini The Golden Age of American Rock 'n' Roll: Special Novelty Edition Comedy G
1972 Chicago Saturday In The Park Best of Chicago Rock C
1972 Alice Cooper School's Out Mascara & Monsters: The Best of Alice Cooper Rock C
1983 The Motels Suddenly Last Summer    
1976 War Summer    
1972 Seals & Crofts Summer Breeze    
1999 LFO Summer Girls    
1966 The Lovin' Spoonful Summer In The City
America's Top Ten Through the Years: The Sixties Rock A
2007 Justin Timberlake Summer Love Futuresex/Lovesounds Rock T
1978 John Travolta & Olivia Newton-John Summer Nights Grease Soundtracks G
1985 Bryan Adams Summer Of '69 Reckless Rock A
1964 Chad & Jeremy A Summer Song The Very Best of Chad & Jeremy Rock C
1966 Billy Stewart Summertime    
1991 DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince Summertime America's Top Ten Through the Years: The Nineties Rock A
1958 Eddie Cochran Summertime Blues The '50s: Rock & Roll, the First 50 Years Rock R
1963 Jan & Dean Surf City Surf's Up Rock J
1963 The Beach Boys Surfer Girl Summer Love Songs Rock B
1962 The Beach Boys Surfin' Safari The Very Best of The Beach Boys: Sounds of Summer Rock B
1963 The Beach Boys Surfin' U.S.A. The Very Best of the Beach Boys: Sounds of Summer Rock B
1963 Nat King Cole Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days of Summer    
1964 The Drifters Under The Boardwalk The Very Best of The Drifters R&B D
1962 The Surfaris Wipe Out    
1987 Fat Boys and The Beach Boys Wipeout    

1001albumsFrom the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die (selected and written by Leading International Critics, Universe Publishing, 2005), the following 1960's releases are available in the Plymouth District Library Adult Music CD Collection.

 

Year Artist(s) Album Title Location
1962 Ray Charles Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music Country C
1963 Bob Dylan The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan Rock Dylan
1963 Stan Getz & João Gilberto Getz/Gilberto Jazz G
1964 The Beatles A Hard Day's Night Rock Beatles
1965 John Coltrane A Love Supreme Jazz C
1965 B.B. King Live at The Regal Blues K
1965 The Beatles Rubber Soul Rock Beatles
1965 Bob Dylan Highway 61 Revisited Rock Dylan
1966 Bob Dylan Blonde On Blonde Rock Dylan
1966 Simon & Garfunkel Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme Easy Listening S
1966 John Mayall's Blues Breakers John Mayall's Blues Breakers with Eric Clapton Blues M
1967 The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band Rock Beatles
1967 Pink Floyd The Piper at The Gates of Dawn Rock Pink Floyd
1967 Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim, The Complete Reprise Recordings Easy Listening S
1967 The Doors The Doors Rock D
1967 The Jimi Hendrix Experience Are You Experienced? Rock H
1968 The Rolling Stones Beggars Banquet Rock Rolling Stones
1968 The Jimi Hendrix Experience Electric Ladyland Rock H
1968 Leonard Cohen The Songs of Leonard Cohen Folk C
1968 Aretha Franklin Aretha: Lady Soul R & B F
1968 Iron Butterfly In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida Rock I
1968 The Band Music From Big Pink Rock B
1968 Jeff Beck Truth Rock Beck
1968 Van Morrison Astral Weeks Rock Morrison
1968 The Beatles The Beatles (The White Album) Rock Beatles
1969 Crosby, Stills and Nash Crosby, Stills and Nash Rock C
1969 Blood, Sweat, and Tears Blood, Sweat, and Tears Rock B
1969 Creedence Clearwater Revival Green River Rock C
1969 The Beatles Abbey Road Rock Beatles
1969 The Who Tommy Rock W
1969 The Rolling Stones Let It Bleed Rock Rolling Stones
1969 Elvis Presley From Elvis in Memphis Rock Presley
1969 Led Zeppelin Led Zeppelin Rock Led
1969 The Band The Band Rock B
1969 Led Zeppelin Led Zeppelin II Rock Led
1969 Sly & The Family Stone Stand! R & B S
1969 King Crimson In the Court of the Crimson King Rock K

storybehindpro33revThe following list is compiled from protest songs of note as discussed in Hardeep Phull's Story Behind the Protest Song: A Reference Guide to the 50 Songs that changed the 20th Century (Greenwood, 2008), and Dorian Lynskey's 33 Revolutions Per Minute: A History of Protest Songs from Billie Holiday to Green Day (HarperCollins, 2011).

Only titles available in our adult music cd collection are listed below.  Please refer to the books (linked above) for comprehensive lists and commentary.

Year refers to the release date of the song title (not the album title listed).

Year Artist(s) Song Title Album Title Location
Undated Pete Seeger We Shall Overcome Smithsonian Folkways American Roots Collection Folk S
1911 Joe Hill The Preacher and the Slave Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways Folk L
1939 Billie Holiday Strange Fruit The Complete Commodore & Decca Masters Jazz H
1944 Josh White Freedom Road Smithsonian Folkways American Roots Collection Folk S
1949 The Weavers If I Had a Hammer If I Had a Song, Vol. 2
The Very Best of Peter, Paul and Mary
Folk S
Folk P
1951 Woody Guthrie This Land is Your Land This Land is Your Land: The Asch Recordings, Vol.1 Folk G
1963 Bob Dylan Masters of War No Direction Home
The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan
Soundtr N
Rock Dylan
1964 Nina Simone Mississippi Goddam The Definitive Collection Jazz S
1964 Sam Cooke A Change is Gonna Come Portrait of a Legend, 1951-1964 R&B C
1965 Phil Ochs I Ain't Marching Anymore Phil Ochs: The Early Years Folk O
1965 Barry McGuire Eve of Destruction Songs of Protest Rock S
1966 Janis Ian Society's Child  The Essential Janis Ian Rock I
1967 Country Joe and the Fish I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag Songs of Protest Rock S
1967 Arlo Guthrie Alice's Restaurant Massacree The Best of Arlo Guthrie Folk G
1968 The Doors The Unknown Soldier The Future Starts Here Rock D
1968 The Beatles Revolution 1 The Beatles (White Ablum) Rock Beatles
1968 James Brown Say It Loud - I'm Black and I'm Proud 20 All Time Greatest Hits R&B B
1969 Plastic Ono Band Give Peace A Chance Ascot Rock L
1969 Sly & The Family Stone Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey Stand! R&B S
1969 Creedence Clearwater Revival Fortunate Son Willy and the Poor Boys Rock C
1970 Edwin Starr War The Seventies
Motown 1970's, Vol.2
Rock T
R&B T
1970 Joni Mitchell Big Yellow Taxi Dreamland Rock Mitchell
1970 Neil Young Southern Man After the Gold Rush Rock Young
1970 The Guess Who American Woman Greatest Hits Rock G
1970 Black Sabbath War Pigs Paranoid Rock B
1970 Peggy Seeger I'm Gonna Be an Engineer Smithsonian Folkways American Roots Collection Folk S
1971 Marvin Gaye What's Going On What's Going On R&B G
1971 John Prine Sam Stone Souvenirs Country P
1972 Helen Reddy I Am Woman Suddenly '70s Rock S
1973 The Four Tops Are You Man Enough?  Anthology R&B F
1973 The Wailers Get Up, Stand Up Legend: The Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers World Caribbean
1973 Stevie Wonder Living For The City The Definitive Collection R&B W
1974 Lynyrd Skynyrd Sweet Home Alabama All Time Greatest Hits Rock L
1977 Sex Pistols God Save the Queen Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols Rock S
1977 Fela Kuti and Afrika 70 Zombie Red Hot + Riot World Africa
1977 The Clash White Riot The Essential Clash Rock C
1979 Elvis Costello Oliver's Army Armed Forces Rock Costello
1979 Gang of Four Ether Return the Gift Rock G
1982 Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five The Message The Best of Grandmaster Flash, Melle Mel & The Furious Five: Message from Beat Street Rap G
1983 U2 Sunday Bloody Sunday War Rock U
1984 U2 Pride (In the Name of Love) The Unforgettable Fire Rock U
1984 Bruce Springsteen Born in the U.S.A. The Essential Bruce Springsteen Rock Springsteen
1986 Jackson Browne Lives in the Balance The Very Best of Jackson Browne Rock B
1992 Leonard Cohen The Future Live in London Rock Cohen
1993 Rage Against the Machine Killing in the Name Rage Against the Machine Rock R
1999 Rage Against the Machine Sleep Now in the Fire The Battle of Los Angeles Rock R
2000 Bruce Springsteen American Skin (41 Shots) Live in New York City Rock Springsteen
2002 Steve Earle John Walker's Blues Jerusalem Country E
2004 Green Day American Idiot American Idiot Rock Green Day
2005 James McMurtry We Can't Make It Here Anymore Childish Things Rock M
2005 System of a Down B.Y.O.B. Mezmerize Rock S
2007 Richard Thompson Dad's Gonna Kill Me Sweet Warrior Rock T
2007 Rufus Wainwright Going to a Town Release the Stars Rock Wainwright

This is a Billboard Magazine ranking of the greatest Top 50 Adult Contemporary Artists Ever.  Artist highlights and video & audio clips are available at the Billboard website.

Titles listed under "Album" are a representative sample of the artists work, and do
not necessarily represent the entirety of our collection.

Rank Artist Album Location
1 Elton John Elton John Live in Australia
Goodby Yellow Brick Road
Greatest Hits, 1970-2002
Peachtree Road
Rock JOHN
2 Neil Diamond The Bang Years: 1966-1968
A Cherry Cherry Christmas
The Essential Greatest Hits Collection
Home Before Dark
Rock D
Holiday D
Easy Listening D
Easy Listening D
3 Barbra Streisand Barbra Streisand: the Television Specials
Duets
Essential Barbra Streisand
Live in Concert 2006
DVD TV BAR
Easy Listening S
Easy Listening S
Easy Listening S
4 Barry Manilow Greatest Songs of the 60's
Greatest Songs of the 70's
Ultimate Manilow
Easy Listening M
5 Kenny Rogers The Gift
Kenny Rogers Double CD
Water & Bridges
Holiday R
Country R
Country R
6 Chicago Best of Chicago Rock C
7 Billy Joel The Hits
Live at Shea Stadium: the concert
The Stranger
Turnstiles
Rock JOEL
8 Carpenters Carpenters Gold: 35th Anniversary Ed. Easy Listening C
9 Lionel Richie Dancing on the Ceiling
Just Go
Truly: The Love Songs
R&B R
10 Anne Murray All Of Me
I'll Always Love You
There's a Hippo in my Tub
Easy Listening M
Easy Listening M
J CD Pop Artists
11 Dionne Warwick The Dionne Warwick Collection
Only Trust Your Heart
Easy Listening W
12 Phil Collins Going Back
Hits
No Jacket Required
R&B C
Rock C
Rock C
13 Elvis Presley Elvis: 30 #1 Hits
How Great Thou Art
2nd To None
The Sun Sessions
Rock PRESLEY
Contemp. Worship P
Rock PRESLEY
Rock PRESLEY
14 Gloria Estefan Alma Caribena = Caribbean Soul
Destiny
Greatest Hits
90 Millas
World Caribbean
Easy Listening E
World Latin Pop
World Latin Pop
15 Whitney Houston The Bodyguard
I Look To You
My Love is Your Love
The Ultimate Collection
Soundtracks B
R&B H
Easy Listening H
R&B H
16 Olivia Newton-John Grace and Gratitude Renewed
Grease: Original Soundtrack Movie
Magic: The Very Best of Olivia Newton-John
New Age N
Soundtracks G
Easy Listening N
17 Herb Alpert Classics Vol. 1
I Feel You
Easy Listening A
Jazz A
18 Michael Bolton Only a Woman Like You
This is the Time: The Christmas Album
Rock B
Holiday B
19 Celine Dion A New Day Has Come
Celine Dion
Falling Into You
Let's Talk About Love
Easy Listening D
20 Andy Williams Moon River: The Very Best of Andy Williams Easy Listening W
21 Frank Sinatra Classic Sinatra: 1953-1960
Classic Sinatra II
The Reprise Collection
Sinatra and Swingin' Brass
Easy Listening S
Easy Listening S
Easy Listening S
Jazz S
22 John Denver Higher Ground
Definitive All-Time Greatest Hits
Country D
23 Bobby Vinton

24 Rod Stewart The Definitive Rod Stewart
It Had To Be You: Great American Songbook
Rock Stewart
25 Glen Campbell Capitol Years 1965-77
Greatest Hits
Country C
26 Al Martino The Best of Al Martino Easy Listening M
27 James Taylor Best of James Taylor
October Road
One Man Band
Sweet Baby James
Rock T
28 Mariah Carey The Ballads
Emotions
Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel
R&B C
Rock C
R&B C
29 Helen Reddy Suddenly '70's Rock S
30 Madonna Celebration
Evita
The Immaculate Collection
True Blue
Rock MADONNA
Soundtracks E
Rock MADONNA
Rock MADONNA
31 Carly Simon Into White
Moonlight Serenade
This Kind of Love
Torch
Easy Listening S
32 Stevie Wonder Best of Stevie Wonder
Definitive Collection
Innervisions
Songs in the Key of Life
R&B W
33 Daryl Hall & John Oates Do It For Love
Marigold Sky
Rock H
34 Richard Marx

35 Elglebert Humperdinck Gold Easy Listening H
36 Dean Martin Christmas with the Rat Pack
Dino: The Essential Dean Martin
Holiday S
Easy Listening M
37 Linda Ronstadt Dedicated to the One I Love
Greatest Hits Vol. II
'Round Midnight
The Very Best of Linda Ronstadt
Baby Coll CD 6
Rock R
Easy Listening R
Easy Listening R
38 Dan Fogelberg Love In Time
Playlist
Rock F
39 Tom Jones The Best of Tom Jones
Praise & Blame
Easy Listening J
Contemp. Worship J
40 Air Supply Ultimate Rock A
41 Diana Ross Blue
Diana Ross & The Supremes: Anthology
Lady Sings the Blues
The Number 1's
Jazz R
R&B R
DVD Drama LAD
R&B R
42 Cher The Very Best of Cher Rock C
43 5th Dimension Greatest Hits R&B F
44 Jack Jones Greatest Hits Easy Listening J
45 Lettermen The Lettermen Easy Listening L
46 B.J. Thomas The Best of B.J. Thomas Easy Listening T
47 Johnny Mathis All About Love
Isn't It Romantic
A Night To Remember
Super Hits
Easy Listening M
48 Amy Grant Age to Age
Behind the Eyes
Rock of Ages: Hymns & Faith
Time Again: Live
Contemp. Worship G
49 Fleetwood Mac Say You Will
Rumours
Tusk
Rock F
50 Perry Como Essential Perry Como Easy Listening C

timessq2010

 

Year Musical Credits (music, lyrics) Shelf Location
1949 Kiss Me, Kate Cole Porter Soundtracks K
1950 South Pacific Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II Soundtracks S
1951 Guys and Dolls Frank Loesser Soundtracks G
1952 The King and I Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II Soundtracks K
1953 Wonderful Town Leonard Bernstein, Betty Comden & Adolph Green  
1954 Kismet Alexander Borodin, Robert Wright & George Forrest No CD, See DVD Musicals KIS
1955 The Pajama Game Richard Adler & Jerry Ross No CD, See DVD Musicals PAJ
1956 Damn Yankees Richard Adler & Jerry Ross, George Abbott & Douglass Wallop Soundtracks D
1957 My Fair Lady Frederick Loewe, Alan Jay Lerner Soundtracks M
1958 The Music Man Meredith Willson Soundtracks M
1959 Redhead Albert Hague, Dorothy Fields  
1960 The Sound of Music Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II Soundtracks S
1960 Fiorello! Jerry Bock, Sheldon Harnick  
1961 Bye Bye Birdie Charles Strouse, Lee Adams Soundtracks B
1962 How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying Frank Loesser Newer Cast Record... Soundtracks H
1963 A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum Stephen Sondheim No CD, See DVD Comedy FUN
1964 Hello, Dolly! Jerry Herman Soundtracks H
1965 Fiddler on the Roof Jerry Bock, Sheldon Harnick Soundtracks F
1966 Man of La Mancha Mitch Leigh, Joe Darion Soundtracks M
1967 Cabaret John Kander, Fred Ebb Soundtracks C
1968 Hallelujah, Baby! Jule Styne, Betty Comden & Adolph Green  
1969 1776 Sherman Edwards Newer Cast... Soundtracks S
1970 Applause Charles Strouse, Lee Adams Soundtracks A
1971 Company Stephen Sondheim Soundtracks C
1972 Two Gentlemen of Verona Galt MacDermot, John Guare  
1973 A Little Night Music Stephen Sondheim Soundtracks A
1974 Raisin Judd Woldin, Robert Brittan  
1975 The Wiz Charlie Smalls No CD, See DVD Musicals WIZ
1976 A Chorus Line Marvin Hamlisch, Edward Kleban Soundtracks C
1977 Annie Charles Strouse, Martin Charnin Movie Soundtrack... Soundtracks A
1978 Ain't Misbehavin' Thomas "Fats" Waller Soundtracks A
1979 Sweeney Todd Stephen Sondheim Soundtracks S
1980 Evita Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice Soundtracks E
1981 42nd Street Harry Warren, Al Dubin Soundtracks F
1982 Nine Maury Yeston Newer Cast, Soundtracks N
1983 Cats Andrew Lloyd Webber, T.S. Eliot & Trevor Nunn Soundtracks C
1984 La Cage aux Folles Jerry Herman Soundtracks L
1985 Big River Roger Miller  
1986 Drood Rupert Holmes  
1987 Les Miserables Claude-Michel Schonberg, Herbert Kretzmer Soundtracks L
1988 The Phantom of the Opera Andrew Lloyd Webber, Charles Hart Soundtracks P
1989 Jerome Robbins' Broadway Various Artists  
1990 City of Angels Cy Coleman, David Zippel Soundtracks C
1991 The Will Rogers Follies Cy Coleman, Betty Comden & Adolph Green  
1992 Crazy For You George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin Soundtracks C
1993 Kiss of the Spider Woman John Kander, Fred Ebb Soundtracks K
1994 Passion Stephen Sondheim  
1995 Sunset Boulevard Andrew Lloyd Webber, Don Black Soundtracks S
1996 Rent Jonathan Larson Soundtracks R
1997 Titanic Maury Yeston Soundtracks T
1998 The Lion King Elton John, Tim Rice Youth CD Disney
1999 Fosse Various Artists Soundtracks F
2000 Contact Various Artists Soundtracks C
2001 The Producers Mel Brooks No CD, See DVD Comedy PRO
2002 Thoroughly Modern Millie Various Artists Soundtracks T
2003 Hairspray Marc Shaiman, Marc Shaiman & Scott Wittman Soundtracks H
2004 Avenue Q Robert Lopez & Jeff Marx Soundtracks A
2005 Monty Python's Spamalot John Du Prez & Eric Idle, Eric Idle Soundtracks S
2006 Jersey Boys Bob Gaudio & Bob Crewe Soundtracks J
2007 Spring Awakening Duncan Sheik, Steven Sater Soundtracks S
2008 In The Heights Lin-Manuel Miranda Soundtracks I
2009 Billy Elliot: The Musical Elton John, Lee Hall Soundtracks B
2010 Memphis David Bryan Soundtracks M
2011 The Book of Mormon Trey Parker & Robert Lopez & Matt Stone Soundtracks B
2012 Once Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova Soundtracks O
2013 Kinky Boots Cyndi Lauper Soundtracks K
2014 A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder Robert L. Freedman & Steven Lutvak Soundtracks G
2015 Fun Home Jeanine Tesori, Lisa Kron Soundtracks F
2016 Hamilton Lin-Manuel Miranda

Soundtracks H

2017 Dear Evan Hansen Benj Pasek / Justin Paul Soundtracks D

 

For Winners in other categories, see The Official Website of the American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards®.

For additional information on Broadway Musicals (including people, theatres, characters, awards, songs),
see The Internet Broadway Database.