Databases By Subject Area
Art:
Camio - Catalog of Art Museum Images
Online - A premiere resource of works of art from around the
world contributed and described by leading museums.
Automotive and Small Engine Repair:
ChiltonLibrary.com -
Represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available
to car owners.
Biography:
Biography
Resource Center - Full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth
and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index - 13.6 millions names
indexed. Includes individuals both living and deceased from every
field of activity and every area of the world. No Full-Text!
Dictionary of Literary Biography - Nearly 10,000 biographical
and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's
most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Business and investing:
Business
Magazines - Search Business Reference on-line by keyword or
subject. Over 38 million articles, many with full-text and may
be printed or e-mailed.
Business
and Company Resource Center - This database includes company
profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company
histories, chronologies and periodicals.
Gale Directory Library - Includes Encyclopedia of Associations and Brands and their Companies.
Morningstar Library Edition Find
a stock or mutual fund to meet your needs, research current or
prospective holdings, or see how your investments fit together.
Reference USA - Company Information Information
on U.S. & Canadian businesses.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage - One stop source for comprehensive
financial & business information including stocks, bonds & corporate
info.
Career Preparation and Testing
Career
Cruising Explore careers and find careers that suit your interests
using the Career Matchmaker. Also info on colleges and universities.
Learn-a-Test On-line test preparation materials for ACT,
SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, ESL, GED, AP tests, Civil Service
Exams, High School Entrance Exam and more.
Children and Young Adult Resources
CultureGrams Experience
the cultures of 182 countries and territories. Also included is information
on our 50 states.
Curriculum Resource Center Two databases - one for K-5 and
the other grades 6 - 12 are included. Topics cover school related
information such as science projects, biographies, maps, timelines
and images.
Daily Life through History Through images, articles, and
timelines, explore how earlier people lived around the world.
This information is for middle and high school students.
eLibrary Elementary Full text database geared toward elementary
school students.
Junior Edition Database of magazine and newspaper articles
designed for jr. high and middle school students.
Kids InfoBits Designed for children in kindergarten through
fifth grade, this features articles from 100 popular children's
magazines and much morel. From Gale Publishing.
Opposing Viewpoints One-stop source for information on social
issues using articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents,
links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
SIRS Discoverer Deluxe Research information for middle school & high
school students.
SIRS Renaissance For high school & college students ~
Provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture
and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing
arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts.
Student Edition Database of magazine and newspaper articles
designed for high school students.
Student Resource Center Bronze Thousands of primary documents,
biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses & full-text
magazine articles.
Computers
Computer
Database Magazine articles on computer hardware, software,
electronics, engineering, communications and the application of
technology.
Consumers
Consumer Reports: Online version with all reviews and articles included in print version.
Encyclopedias and other Materials for Reference
Gale
Virtual Reference Library - Electronic reference books dealing
with medicine, history,science, environment, business, and multicultural
studies.
First Search Data Bases Wide
variety of databases relating to health, business, education etc.
Use WorldCat to search for books in libraries across the U.S.
Gale Directory Library Includes Encyclopedia of Associations and Brands and their Companies.
World
Almanac - Search Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia as well
as 4 almanacs. From OCLC First Search.
Genealogy
Footnote.com -
Historical document, and genealogical research site with over 41 million primary documents online.
HeritageQuest Online Over
25,000 local and family history books full-text online as well as
U.S. Federal Census images.
Health and Wellness
CINAHL -
Provides indexing for 2,931 journals with 1,000,000 records dating
back to 1981, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship,
complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
70 journals are full-text.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Search the Health & Wellness
database for drug information, medical dictionary, health news and much more.
Health Reference Center Academic Search magazines for topics
dealing with Fitness, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Alcohol and
Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. Coverage is from 1980.
Language Learning
Mango Languages
- Learn languages such as French, Spanish, Japanese, German, Greek, Italian, Russian, Mandarin Chinese and Brazilian Portuguese. In addition, there are also courses in ESL Polish, ESL Spanish and ESL Brazilian Portuguese. You must first create a profile on the Mango Login Page if you wish to track your progress!
Law
Legal
Forms Online Forms to be used in Michigan that cover topics
such as Bankruptcy, Divorce, Name Change, Power of Attorney, Real
Estate, Wills and more.
Legal Trac Find articles in all major law reviews, law journals,
specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers.
Literature and Reader's Advisory
Literature Resource Center This database covers more than 120,000
novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with
in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
NoveList This program allows readers to use a favorite author
or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of
interest.
Tumblereadables : This is a collection of electronic books
for all age groups, featuring online text, narration, line highlighting,
and auto page turning.
What Do I Read Next? This database includes more than 100,000
recommended titles and 58,000 plot summaries. Use this to find
books by series, author, or reading level.
Magazines and Scholarly Journals
Academic
OneFile Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, the arts,
literature, medicine and more in scholarly journals, many with
full text.
Article First From OCLC, an index of articles from the content
pages of journals. Many fulltext.
Educator's Reference Complete - A collection of educational
journals for K-12 teachers.
General OneFile - A one-stop source for news and popular magazine
articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles,
many with images. Updated daily.
WilsonSelect Plus - Part of OCLC First Search, this database
has full-text magazine articles.
Newspapers
Michigan Newspapers - Search Detroit News (archives to 1999) and over 60 other Michigan newspapers.
Newspapers Search 150 U.S. and world newspapers including
New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Times of London, and
Grand Rapids Press over the past 365 days for full-text articles.
New York Times Historic Newspaper Search the New York Times
newspaper full-text from 1851 through 2004.
Detroit Free Press Historic Newspaper
alphabetical listing of Databases
Academic
OneFile - Extensive
coverage of the physical sciences, the arts, literature, medicine
and more in scholarly journals, many with full text.
Biography
and Genealogy Master Index - 13.6 millions names indexed.
Includes individuals both living and deceased from every field
of activity and every area of the world. No Full-Text!
Biography
Resource Center - Full-text articles from hundreds of
periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal
facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity,
occupation or gender.
Business
Magazines - Search Business Reference on-line by
keyword or subject. Many articles are full-text and may be printed
or e-mailed.
Business
and Company Resource Center - This database includes company
profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports,
company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
Camio - Catalog
of Art Museum Images Online -
A premiere resource of works of art from around the world contributed
and described by leading museums.
Career
Cruising - Explore careers
and find careers that suit your interests using the Career Matchmaker.
Also info on colleges and universities.
ChiltonLibrary.com -
-Represents the most authoritative automotive repair information
available to car owners.
CINAHL -
Provides indexing for 2,931 journals with 1,000,000 records
dating back to 1981, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences
librarianship, complementary medicine, consumer health and 17
allied health disciplines. 70 journals are full-text.
Computer
Database - Magazine articles
on computer hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications
and the application of technology.
Consumer Reports: Online version with all reviews and articles included in print version.
CultureGrams -
Experience the cultures of 182 countries and territories. Also
included is information on our 50 states.
Curriculum Resource Center -
Two databases - one for K-5 and the other grades 6 - 12 are included.
Topics cover school related information such as science projects,
biographies, maps, timelines and images.
Daily
Life through History - Through
images, articles, and timelines, explore how earlier people lived
around the world. This information is for middle and high school
students.
Detroit News -
Search Detroit News from
1999 and other Michigan newspapers.
Educator's
Reference Complete - From Info Trac, this is a collection
of educational journals for K-12 teachers.
Electric
Library Elementary - Full text database geared toward
elementary school students.
First Search Data
Bases - Wide variety of databases relating to health, business,
education etc. Also view WorldCat - listing of books in major
libraries in the U.S.
Footnote.com -
Historical document, and genealogical research site with over 41 million primary documents online.
Gale Directory Library - Includes Encyclopedia of Associations and Brands and their Companies.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library - Electronic
reference books dealing with medicine, history,science, environment,
business, and multicultural studies.
General
OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on
a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
Updated daily.
Health & Wellness
Resource Center - Search the Health & Wellness database
for drug information, medical dictionary, health news and
much more.
Health
Reference Center Academic - Search magazines for topics
dealing with Fitness, , Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Alcohol
and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. Coverage is
from 1980.
HeritageQuest
Online - Over 25,000 local and family history books full-text
online as well as U.S. Federal Census images and Revolutionary
War Pension files.
Junior
Edition - Database of magazine and newspaper articles designed for
jr. high and middle school students. |
Student
Edition - Database of magazine and newspaper articles designed for
high school students.
Kids
InfoBits - Designed for children in kindergarten through fifth grade,
this features articles from 100 popular childrens magazines and much
more.
Learning Library Express - On-line test
preparation materials for ACT, SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, ESL, GED, AP
tests, Civil Service Exams, High School Entrance Exam and more.
Legal
Forms Online - Forms
to be used in Michigan that cover topics such as Bankruptcy, Divorce,
Name Change, Power of Attorney, Real Estate, Wills and more.
Legal
Trac - Find articles
in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association
journals and legal newspapers.
Literature Resource Center - This databses covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Magazine Search (General OneFile) - Search Infotrac for articles from popular
magazines, on-line by keyword or subject. Many articles are full-text
and may be printed or e-mailed.
Mango Languages - Learn languages such as French, Spanish, Japanese, German, Greek, Italian, Russian, Mandarin Chinese and Brazilian Portuguese. In addition, there are also courses in ESL Polish, ESL Spanish and ESL Brazilian Portuguese. You must first create a profile on the Mango Login Page if you wish to track your progress!
Michigan Newspapers - Search Detroit News (archives to 1999) and over 60 other Michigan newspapers.
Morningstar
Library Edition - Find a stock or mutual fund to
meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings, or
see how your investments
fit together.
Newspapers - Search over 120 U.S. newspapers including
New York Times, and Grand Rapids Press over
the past 365 days for full-text articles.
New
York Times Historic Newspaper - Search the New York Times newspaper
full-text from 1851 through 2004.
NoveList - This program allows readers to use a
favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles
of interest.
Opposing
Viewpoints - One-stop source for information on social
issues using articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents,
links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Reference USA - Company Information - Information
on U.S., Canadian and International businesses.
SIRS
Discoverer Deluxe - Research information for middle
school & high school students
SIRS Renaissance - For
high school & college students ~ Provides dynamic information on
the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia,
music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts.
Standard
and Poor's NetAdvantage -One stop source
for comprehensive financial & business information
including stocks, bonds & corporate info.
Student
Resource Center Bronze - Thousands of primary documents,
biographies, topical essays, background information, critical
analyses & full-text
magazine articles.
Tumblereadables : This is a collection of electronic books for all age groups, featuring online text, narration, line highlighting, and auto page turning.
What
Do I Read Next? - This
database includes more than 100,000 recommended titles and 58,000
plot summaries.
Use this to find books by series, author, or reading level.
World Catalog (OCLC)- Find materials in Libraries throughout the United States.
|
|